skip navigation

NAPHL announces 2017-18 Academic Teams

By AK, 04/13/18, 5:30PM EDT


12 Esmark Stars AAA Players Honored

The North American Prospects Hockey League (NAPHL) has announced its All-Academic Teams in the 15U, 16U and 18U divisions for the 2017-18 season.

Consideration and selection was based on classroom performance during the 2017-18 school year. To qualify for the All-NAPHL Academic Team, student-athletes, nominated by a coach, must have achieved high academic standards during the current school year.

(All-Academic Selection was limited to four maximum per team.)

Esmark Stars AAA players recognized as NAPHL Academic All-Stars for the 2017-18 school year, include:

U15 - Daniel Baranowski, Jensen Kubina, Joshua Martino, Mitchell Nanny

U16 - Ryder Brophy, Aden Bruich, Milan Cermak, Lane Ruffner

U18 - Antonio Binotto, Andrew Jacobs, Gavin Morrison and Oldrich Virag

The Esmark program submitted lists of names for consideration at all three levels that far exceeded the maximum of four allowed per member program at each level.

"I am very proud of the players selected as Academic All-Stars," said Stars 18U Head Coach and program General Manager Dave Kosick. "The time and dedication to be a high-end Tier I AAA player while maintaining superior excellence in the classroom is to be applauded."

"Whether you made the All-Academic Team or not, we salute and congratulate all of our student athletes who maintain academic excellence ... without seeking special exemption from the day-to-day requirements ... all while managing the rigors of playing elite travel hockey," Kosick added.